Annual Report 2019

Composition of the Supervisory Board and Management Board

As a group, the Supervisory Board members represent a broad range of experience and expertise in line with the desired Supervisory Board profile in view of GrandVision’s business. It complies with the Dutch Corporate Governance Code. The board has five members, whose profiles you can find under 'Supervisory Board' in this section. All Supervisory Board members qualify as independents, except for Mel Groot. As permitted by the Dutch Corporate Governance Code best practice provision 2.1.10, Groot does not satisfy all independent criteria.

After the Annual General Meeting on 26 April, 2019, Mel Groot’s first term expired. Groot was eligible and available for reappointment and complied with the profile of the Supervisory Board. During this meeting, Groot was reappointed to his position on the Supervisory Board for an additional four-year term. In the same meeting, Rianne Meijerman was appointed for her first term as a Supervisory Board member.

Willem Eelman was appointed as CFO for the Management Board at the EGM on 15 May, 2019. He succeeded Paulo de Castro, who resigned on the same day after serving seven-and-a-half years with GrandVision.

Diversity, including gender, remains an important consideration in the selection process for the appointment and reappointment of Management and Supervisory Board members. In the meantime, quality, expertise and experience remain key areas of focus. Diversity in the broad sense is a topic on the Supervisory Board agenda.